<< Back To Directory
Loading...


Geometry
Welcome to Geometry
Page Avatar

Welcome to the world of shapes and finding out all about their curves and sleek lines!  With everyones help in the class room you will soar to heights you never thought were possible for the world of knowledge.

 
Weekly Agenda
Geometry Chapter One

Thursday, Aug. 7 (P) & Friday, Aug. 8 (W)  
Lesson 1.1 The students are discovering that points, lines and planes do not have a definition they can only be described.  And that we use these 3 concepts to give definition to other concepts in geometry, like rays, line segments, collinear points, etc.
Assignment: Skills practice lesson 1.1 Vocab. #1-14 all, Problem Set #1-32 All.
Writing due on Wednesday for purple day or Thursday for white day.


Monday, Aug. 11 (P) & Tuesday, Aug. 12 (W)
Working on points, lines, planes and segments, what they create when they intersect.  And reviewing with quadratic equations.
Assignment:  Wkst Geometry Assignment #2 # 1-23.  And Algebra 1 & 2 Review #2-30 Evens. Collins Writing is due.

Wednesday, Aug. 13 (P) & Thursday, Aug. 14 (W)
Lesson 1.2 we will be naming, classifying and drawing angles.
Assignment:  Skills practice, lesson 1.2 (assignment #3) Vocabulary #1-13 all, Problem Set # 1-24

Friday, Aug. 15 (P) & Monday, Aug. 18 (W)
Lesson 1.3 We will be identifying, naming and drawing special angles. Ex: vertical, adjacent, linear pair, complement, & supplement angles.
Assignment:  Worksheet of Skills Practice 1.3 (not in your skills book) assignment #4

Tuesday, Aug. 19 (P) & Wednesday, Aug. 20 (W)
Lesson 1.4  We will be defining, recognizing and contrasting inductive & deductive reasoning.
Assignment:  Skills Practice lesson 1.4, pg. 309 #7 & 8.  Page 311 # 14 & 15.
PLUS... Wkst Study Guide 1.2 Review 
          Wkst Study Guide 1.3 Review 

Thursday, Aug. 21 (P) & Friday, Aug. 22 (W)
Lesson 1.5  We will be identify & explore the hypothesis and conclusion of conditional statements.  We will differentiate between postulates and theorems.
Assignments:  Skills Practice Lesson 1.5, pgs. 313-320
Vocab: #1-14 all, Problem Set
# 1-32

Monday, Aug. 25 (P) & Tuesday, Aug. 26 (W)
Review
worksheet for chapter 1 test

Wednesday, Aug. 27 (P) & Thursday, Aug. 28 (W)
Chapter 1   TEST
Assignment:  
Wkst. geometry word search and algebra one review covering simplifying expressions & solving equations.

Friday, Aug. 29 (P) & Tuesday, Sept. 2 (W)
Constructions of line segments and angles using a compass and ruler. 
Assignment: partner work in class on constructions.


Attachments
Geometry Chapter Two
Wednesday, Sept. 3 (P) & Thursday, Sept. 4 (W)
Lesson 2.1 (G.PL.2 & G.PL.3) Using 2 lines that are parallel and 2 that are not parallel to identify the: transversals, different types of angles formed, and how the angles compare with on the 2 types of lines.
Assignment:  Les. 2.1 Skills practice pgs. 334-339 Problem Set #1-32 All

Friday, Sept. 5 (P) & Monday, Sept. 8 (W)
Lesson 2.2 (G.PL.3) Students will be finding the measures of x or the measure of the missing angle by using the theorems of parallel lines cut by a transversal.
Assignment:  Les 2.1 Skills Practice, Pg. 333 Vocabulary #1-10 and Wkst. #1-22 and #1-8 (covers les 2.2, perpendicular & intersecting lines)

Tuesday, Sept. 9 (P) & Wednesday, Sept. 10 (W)
Lesson 2.3 Identifying and working through 2 column proofs.  (Standard G.LP.1 & 4)  
Reviewing angels formed by 2 parallel lines cut by a transversal. (Standard G.PL.2 & 3)
Assignment: les 2.2 Skills Practice pgs. 342 - 346 Problem Set #1-20 

Thursday, Sept. 11 (P) & Friday, Sept. 12 (W)
Lesson 2.4  (G.LP.3 & G.PL.3) Students will write and prove parallel line converse postulates.
Assignment:  lesson 2.4 Skills Practice pgs. #353-361 #1-27

Monday, Sept. 15 (P) & Tuesday, Sept. 16 (W)
Review lessons 2.1-2.4  (G.PL.2, G.PL.3, G.LP.1 & 3 & 4)
Assignment: Review Worksheet

Wednesday, Sept. 17 (P) & Thursday, Sept. 18 (W)
Lesson 2.5 We will be introducing polygons and their names, triangles to decagons.
Assignment: Skills Practice lesson 2.5, pgs. 363-369 #1-32  NOT # 13-16.

Friday, Sept. 19 (P) & Monday, Sept. 22 (W)
Lesson 2.6
 We will be classigying triangles and quadrilaterals
Assignment:  Skills Practice lesson 2.6, pgs. 371-379 Vocab & Problem Set. NOT #27-32.
And Wksts. (pgs. 26 & 28)

Tuesday, Sept. 23 (P) & Wednesday, Sept. 24 (W)
Reviewing chapter 2, lessons 1 thru 6
Assignment: Review worksheet for chapter 2

Thursday, Sept. 25 (P) & Friday, Sept. 26 (W)
Chapter 2
Wkst Reviewing theorems and parts of parallel lines

Monday, Sept. 29 (P) & Tuesday, Sept. 30 (W)
Chapter 2 TEST
Assignment for Thursday:
Wkst Finding distance betw 2 coordinate points & writing linear equ. PLUS Lesson 3.1 skills Practice Pgs. 381-384 #1-20. 

Attachments
Chapter 4 Polygons and Circles
Thursday, Oct. 30 (P) & Friday, Oct. 31 (W)
Lesson 4.2
Simplifying Radicals. Utilizing the Pythagorean Theorem to solve story problems. Utilizing Pythagorean Thm's converse to prove right triangle measures.
Assignment:  Skills Practice lesson 4.2, pgs. 437-445 Vocabulary #1-7 and Problem Set #1-42.

Monday, Nov. 3 (P) & Tuesday, Nov. 4 (W)
Lesson 4.1 Identifying interior angles.
Applying the sum of the 3 interior angles in a triangle is 180 deg.
Identifying exterior angles of a triangle and its remote interior angles.
Using the exterior angle inequality thm to prove the two inequality statements of exterior angles.
Assignment:  Skills Practice 4.1, pgs. 429-435, Vocabulary #1-4, and Problem Set #1-30

Wednesday, Nov. 5 (P) & Thursday, Nov. 6 (W)
Lesson 4.3 Utilizing a 45-45-90 triangles
Assignment: Skills Practice 4.3, pgs. 447-452 Vocabulary #1,2 and Problem Set #1-20

Friday, Nov. 7 (P) & Monday, Nov. 10 (W)
Lesson 4.4
 Utilizing Practice 30-60-90 triangles
Assignment: Skill Practice lesson 4.4, Pgs. 455-458 #1-20. AND wkst (5-2 Practice) #1-17

Tuesday, Nov. 11 (P) & Wednesday, Nov. 12 (W)
3 Review worksheets with triangles
Assignment:  the 3 review worksheets

Thursday, Nov. 13 (P) & Friday, Nov. 14 (W)
Lesson 4.5 We will be working with the sum of any 2 side measures of a triangle must be greater than the length of the 3rd side to create a triangle.
Assignment:  Lesson 4.5 Skills Pgs. 461-464, vocabulary #1 & 2,  Problem Set #1-22

Monday, Nov. 17 (P) & Tuesday, Nov. 18 (W)
Reviewing for Chapter 4 test
Assignment:  Review wksts

Wednesday, Nov. 19 (P) & Thursday, Nov. 20 (W)
Chapter 4 TEST
Assginment:  Wkst "Geometry Proportions, Lesson 5.1"

Friday, Nov. 21 (P) & Monday, Nov. 24 (W)
Lesson 5.1 & 5.2

Attachments
Chapter 5 Similarity
Friday, Nov. 21 (P) & Monday, Nov. 24 (W)
Lesson 5.1 We are working with Ratios and Proportions, solving and comparing the ratios.
Lesson 5.2  We will determine if polygons are similar.  If similar polygons then naming the congruent angles and corresponding sides.
Assignment:  Skills lesson 5.1 Pgs. 465-470 Vocab. 1-5, Problem Set #1-22
Skills Lesson 5.2 Pgs. 471-476 Vocab #1-3, Problem Set #1-12, & 22-24 

Tuesday, Nov. 25 (P) & Monday, Dec. 1 (W)
Lesson 5.2 Solving for the unknown side measure in similar polygons
Lesson 5.3  We will determine whether the polygons are similar or not similar using the similarity postulates.
Assignment:  Lesson 5.2 Skills Practice Pgs. 474-476  #13-20, & 25-28.  
And Lesson 5.3 Skills Practice Pgs.477-485, Vocabulary #1-5, Problem Set #1-20

Tuesday, Dec. 2 (P) & Wednesday, Dec. 3 (W)
Review worksheet over lesson 5.1 to 5.3
Assignment:  Review wkst for lessons 5.1-5.3

Thursday, Dec. 4 (P) & Friday, Dec. 5 (W)
Lesson 5.
5   We are calculating the geometric mean in similar triangles.
Assignment:  Lesson 5.5 Skills Practice Pg. 493-500  Vocabulary #1-4,  Problem Set #1-26

Monday, Dec. 8 (P) & Tuesday, Dec. 9 (W)
Lesson 5.6
 Determining the unknown measure in similar triangles through application story problems.
Assignment:  Lesson 5.6 Skills Practice pgs. 501-506  Vocabulary #1 & Problem Set #1-12

Wednesday, Dec. 10 (P) & Thursday, Dec. 11 (W)
Lesson 5.4
 We will apply the Angle Bisector/Proportional Side Theorem
Quiz (40 to 50 pts.) ch. 5
Assignment:  Lesson 5.4 Skills Practice Pgs. 487-491  Vocabulary #1, Problem Set #1-12
Final exam Review problems to work.

Friday, Dec. 12 (P) & Monday, Dec. 15 (W)
Final exam review problems 

Attachments
Semester One Final Exam Review
Final exam REVIEW
Attachments
Chapter 7 Right Triangle Trigonometry
Friday, Feb. 6 (P)
Lesson 7.1 Tangent Ratio
We will use the tangent ratio and the cotangent ratio to solve for the unknown sides in a right triangle. We will use the inverse tangent to solve for the unknown angle in a right triangle.
Assignment:  Lesson 7.1 Skills Practice, Pgs. 563-571 Vocabulary #1-5 and Problem Set #1-44.

Monday, Feb. 9 (W)
Taking the chapter 6 TEST (Snow day last Thursday (W))
Turn in Chapter 6 Notes in order, stapled for lesson 6.2, 6.5 & 6.6
Assignment:  Have Chapters 7 & 8's Skills and Text book pages in your binder!

Tuesday, Feb. 10 (P) 
Lesson 7.2  Sine Ratio 
We will use the Sine ratio and the cosecant ratio to solve for the unknown sides in a right triangle. We will use the inverse sine to solve for the unknown angle in a right triangle.
Assignment:  Lesson 7.2 Skills Practice, Pgs. 563-571 Vocabulary #1-3 and Problem Set #1-44.

Wednesday, Feb. 11 (W)
Lesson 7.1 Tangent Ratio
We will use the tangent ratio and the cotangent ratio to solve for the unknown sides in a right triangle. We will use the inverse tangent to solve for the unknown angle in a right triangle.
Assignment:  Lesson 7.1 Skills Practice, Pgs. 563-571 Vocabulary #1-5 and Problem Set #1-44.  Also write the notes for lesson 7.2 in text book pages.

Thursday, Feb. 12 (P)
Review of Tangent and Sine ratios
Assignment: Worksheet Lesson 7.1 & 7.2 Review. Do all problems.   

Friday, Feb. 13 (W)
Lesson 7.2  Sine Ratio 
We will use the Sine ratio and the cosecant ratio to solve for the unknown sides in a right triangle. We will use the inverse sine to solve for the unknown angle in a right triangle.
Assignment:  Lesson 7.2 Skills Practice, Pgs. 563-571 Vocabulary #1-3 and Problem Set #1-44.   

Monday, Feb. 16 to Friday, Feb. 20 AND
Monday, Feb. 23 to Tuesday, Feb. 24
Seven snow days...out of school...to make up.


Wednesday, Feb. 25 (P)
(2hr delay)  Check Worksheet lesson 7.1 & 7.2 Review
Assignment: Copy lesson 7.3 notes from attachments below.

Thursday, Feb. 26 (W) 
Activity Day Schedule (Students took Survey)
Review of Tangent and Sine ratios

Assignment: Worksheet Do all problems.  
Also copy 7.3 notes from this web page.

Friday, Feb. 27 (P) & Monday, March 2 (W)
(2hr delay)  Check Worksheet lesson 7.1 & 7.2 Review
Lesson 7.3: We will use the cosine ratio and the secant ratio to solve for the unknown sides in a right triangle. We will use the inverse cosine to solve for the unknown acute angle in a right triangle.
Assignment: Lesson 7.3 Skills Practice, pages 583-591. All problems in Vocabulary and Problem Set.  
Also Copy the few notes for lesson 7.4 in attachment below.  I will give you some copied notes that will go along with these text book notes.

Tuesday, March 3 (P) & Wednesday, March 4 (W) 
Lesson 7.4 We will use trigonometric ratios to solve for the angle of elevation or the angle of depression.
We will also discover which trignometric ratios are the same (equivalent).
Assignment:  Lesson 7.4 Skills Practice, pages 593 - 599.  Vocabulary #1 & 2, Problem Set #1-28.

Thursday, March 5 (P)  
Snow day   No School

Friday, March 6 (W) 
Monday, March 9 (P)
3 to 4 of 7.4's questions on problems on chalkboard to see the pictures and how you may have to change work to get the correct answer.
AND
Chapter 7 
Review with right triangles over all the trignometric ratios finding measure of unknown side, measure of unknown acute angle, angle of elevation, and/or angle of depression.
Assignment:  Worksheet Review Ch. 7 (All)

Tuesday, March 10 (W) & Wednesday, March 11 (P)
Review material needed to know for Ch. 7 test on board.
Work as many as possible on chalkboard from review worksheet for questions.  See attachment below too for work and answers for review.
Assignment:  STUDY FOR TEST!  STUDY!!

Thursday, March 12 (W) & Friday, March 13 (P) 
Chapter 7 Test


Attachments
Chapter 8 Quadrilaterals
Monday, March 30 (P) & Tuesday, March 31 (W)
Lesson 8.2 We will be working with the definitions and properties of a parallelogram and rhombus so we can calculate missing measures.
Assignment:  Skills Lesson 8.2 Pgs. 613-622, Vocabulary #1,  Problem Set #1-8, 15-20, 28-32. 

Wednesday, April 1 (P) & Thursday, April 2 (W)
Lesson 8.3
We will be working with definitions and properties of kites and trapezoids to calculate missing measures.
Assginment: Skills Lesson 8.3 Pgs. 623 - 637, Vocabulary #1-3 & Problem Set #1-8, 15-26 & 40-44

Friday, April 3 (P) & Monday, April 6 (W)
Calculating measures of sides and angles of different quadrilaterals using the definitions and properties of the quadrilaterals.
Assignment:  Both sides of Wkst. #1 Practice and Study Guide of Rectangles, Rhombi, and Squares.  Both sides of Wkst #2 Practice and Study Guide of Parallelograms.

Tuesday, April 7 (P) & Wednesday, April 8 (W)
Lesson 8.4 Calculating the sum of the measures of all interior angles of a polygon when given the number of sides.
Calculating the number of sides of a polygon when given the sum of the measures of all interior angles.
Calculating the measure of each interior angle of a regular polygon when given the number of sides.
Calculating the number of sides of a regular polygon when given the measure of each interior angle.
Assignment:  Skills Lesson 8.4 Pgs. 639-647
Vocabulary #1, Problem Set #1-36.

Thursday, April 9 (P) & Friday, April 10 (W)
Lesson 8.5
Assignment:

Monday, April 13 (P) & Tuesday, April 14 (W)
Lesson 8.6
Assignment:

Wednesday, April 15 (P) & Thursday, April 16 (W) 
Review for chapter 8 test
Assginment: Chapter 8 Review Worksheet

Friday, April 17 (P) & Monday, April 20 (W)
Chapter 8 TEST
Lesson 9.1 Calculates the distance between two coordinate points using the distance formula.  We will Derive the distance formula than apply it to different applicational questions.
Assignment: lesson 9.1 Skills Pgs. 664-673 #8-28 even
Attachments
Chapter 9 Geometry in the Coordinate Plane
Friday, April 17 (P) & Monday, April 20 (W)
Test Chapter 8
Lesson 9.1 Calculates the distance between two coordinate points using the distance formula.  We will Derive the distance formula than apply it to different applicational questions.
Assignment: lesson 9.1 Skills Pgs. 664-673 #8-28 even

Tuesday, April 21 (P) & Wednesday, April 22 (W)
Lesson 9.2 Calculating the midpoint of two coordinate points on & off the coordinate plane but using the midpoint formula.  And
Lesson 9.3 Calculating the slopes of lines to determine if the lines are parallel, perpendicular or neither to each other.  We will write equations of lines in y-intercept form and in point/slope form.  We will also calculate & write lines parallel or perpendicular to a given line. 
Assignment:  Skills Practice, lesson 9.2 Pgs. 676-682 #2-22 Even.  And lesson 9.3 Pg. 683 Vocabulary #1-8, Pgs. 684-692 #2-24 Even.

Thursday, April 23 (P) & Friday, April 24 (W)
Lesson 9.4 Calculating the measure of the midsegment in a triangle or its parallel side of the triangle.  
Assignment:  Worksheet (lesson 9.4) #1-38

Monday, April 27 (P) & Tuesday, April 28 (W)
Lesson 9.5
We will draw points of concurrency in triangles finding the incenter, circumcenter, centroid and orthocenter of the triangle.
Assignment:  Skills Practice lesson 9.5 Pgs. 717 - 725.  Vocabulary (all), Problem Set # 2-32 evens, #40, 42, 44



Attachments
Chapter 11 Circles
Wednesday, April 29 (P) & Thursday, April 30 (W)
Lessons 11.1 & 11.2 
 We will identifying & drawing parts of a triangle.  In 11.2 we will calculate the measure of inscribe angles, central angles, major and minor arcs.
Assignment:  Skills Practice lesson 11.1 Pgs. 807 to 812, Vocabulary and Problem Set ALL questions and problems.  Lesson 11.2 pgs. 813-821, Vocabulary #1-6, Problem Set #2-36 even

Friday, May 1 (P) & Monday, May 4 (W)
Lesson 11.3 We will calculate the measures of angles formed by two chords, two secants, a tangent and a secant, and two tangents.
Assignment: Skills Practice lesson 11.3 Pgs.823-832 #2-24 evens, #31 -36 all.

Tuesday, May 5 (P) & Wednesday, May 6 (W)
Lesson 11.4 We will determine the relationships between a chord and a diameter of a circle.  We will also determine relationships between congruent chords and their minor arcs.
Assignment: Lesson 11.4, Pgs. 835-844 Vocabulary #1-7  Problem Set #1-36  

Thursday, May 7 (P) & Friday, May 8 (W)
Lesson 11.5  We will determine the relationship between a tangent line and a radius; also between congruent tangent segments.
Assignment: Skills Lesson 11.5, Pgs. 845-856 Vocabulary #1-6, Problem Set #2-42 Even

Monday, May 11 (P) & Tuesday, May 12 (W)
Lesson 11.6 & 11.7 Working with inscribed & circumscribed triangles and quadrilatrals. We will be finding the arc length of circles.
Assignment:  Lesson 11.6 Pg. 857-862 Vocabulary #1-4, Problem Set #2-20 Evens.
Lesson 11.7 Pgs. 871-880, Vocabulary #1, Problem Set #2-34 Even.

Wednesday, May 12 (P) & Thursday, May 13 (W)
Lesson 11.8 
We will find the area of a sector & segment of a circle. 
Lesson 12.1 We will be calculating the surface area of polygons.
Assignment:  Lesson 11.8

Friday, May 14 (P) & Monday, May 17 (W)
Review Worksheets for Chapter 11 & 12.1.
Review Worksheets for 2nd semester exam.
Assignment:  Studying for chapter 11 & 12.1 Test.
Attachments

Collapse Information Clip Contact Me!


Collapse Statistics pageStats
Page Statistics
Created: Sep 5, 2011
Page Statistics
Updated: Apr 29, 2020
Page Hits
Viewed 3307 times

Collapse Information Clip Contact Me!


Collapse Statistics pageStats
Page Statistics
Created: Sep 5, 2011
Page Statistics
Updated: Apr 29, 2020
Page Hits
Viewed 3307 times

Upcoming Events

No events found